Jot and tittle, nettles and briers

Little thorns and prickles that grow.  The jot and tittle details.  Some details we would like to not face on a regular basis.  Usually hope can overcome these nettles and briers.

briers and nettles.jpg

There are moments we can not overcome or bounce back so we stand teary-eyed with bleeding palms.  Unfortunately these moments do not come in organized pots, neatly-terracotta -contained, so they can be mistaken for home decor.  We begin to reorganize our souls among the thorns that blanket our vision.  Sorting through feelings, logic, productivity, restlessness, and spiritual insight.

The tension and duress of these moments are the world wringing us out to be something useful and reproducible…in a hurry.  So we stand.  Trying not to feel the sting or the pressure.  Letting our soul go and trusting God, is such a gut-wrenching affair.

nettle path.jpg

Like the counselor asking the new widow if she was having night terrors.  “I wouldn’t have any idea if I am screaming and dreaming because no one is here to tell me.  I wake up to myself and can only guess.”

Rather than following our feelings and emotions for our next breath, we claim what God has declared Truth.  I have said these to myself out loud whilst standing among the nettles and briers, and now I give them to you.  They were first given to me from Beth Moore’s Bible Study, and they capture the Word of God in 5 Truth statements.  Even when they don’t change how I am feeling, I say them, pray them, and claim them.

  1. God is who He says He is.
  2. I am who God says I am.
  3. God will do what He says He will do.
  4. God’s Word is alive and active in me.
  5. All things are possible through Christ.

Remember when you find yourself weary of the daily jot and tittle details and your feelings begin to take over, that God permits some things to take place unlike His original wish for us, obeying His all-knowing command.

“Heart-shattered lives ready for love don’t for a moment escape God’s notice.”-Psalm 51

2 Comments Add yours

  1. ruththegreatexchangemooneygmailcom says:

    my sturdy, faithful friend

    Like

  2. wearlovenow says:

    You capture struggle, and the essentials needed to struggle well, with such care and compassion…thank you for sharing…it helps me be a bit sturdier. xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

